Reading Narnia: Prince Caspian

Hello everyone! I have been kind of crazy busy since last posting, but I am excited to be back. On Friday I went up to Wheaton for my 2 year reunion. It was great to see everyone (and remember how uncomfortable dorm mattresses are) and it was a lot of fun. I left early on Saturday morning to go back to the city for one of my best friend’s bridal showers, which was also tons of fun. I also started a new babysitting job for two adorable little girls on Monday, and I have been editing a bit, so even though I’ve been a bit swamped, and I’m 90% sure I left my wallet on the train up to Wheaton and I spent my train ride back cancelling my debit card and finding the closest Western Union to Penn Station that was open on a Saturday, I would say I’ve had a good past couple of days.

Today I’m also excited to talk about Prince Caspian here. I am still playing catch up with book reviews because as it turns out it doesn’t take too long to read kid’s book (although it is a lot of fun 🙂 ) and I’ve been reading a lot of YA recently (as you will see after the Narnia series is over). So I think I was reading this right after Easter.

prince-caspian

So Prince Caspian. I ended up borrowing a copy of the book from the library, and it was the special edition with color photographs which was pretty fun. It’s been a while since I read a book with pictures in it. I also was a little more familiar with the story of Prince Caspian from seeing the movie, as opposed to other Narnia books.

A bit about Prince Caspian: Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy return to Narnia when they are heading back to school (that would be nice) only to find it a very different place from when they were last there. Years have passed, and Narnia has been taken over by the Telmarines, who have sent all the talking animals into hiding. But the Telmarines have a prince (Caspian) who is more interested in Narnia and its creatures than his own land. He and the Pevensies team up to bring back Narnia.

I don’t have the book in front of me at the moment so I am doing this review by memory, but I did like the way Caspian was introduced to Narnia – through stories from his old Nurse and his tutor. He always had a fascination and love for the land that his nation did not share, which ultimately shapes the rest of the series.

I also liked the internal debate that went on in many of the characters during the Telmarine’s reign. It was clear that they were in a tight spot and needed to find a way out, but was it worth waiting for Aslan, who some of them had never seen, or would turning to the White Witch, the antagonist in Lion, Witch, Wardrobe work? Nikabrik the dwarf was all for The White Witch (the dwarves were treated well under her rule), and it created a good amount of tension in the book. This debate was also played up more fully in the movie with The White Witch almost making a comeback through a sheet of ice only to have Edmund destroy her (go Edmund!)

Prince Caspian is one of the few books that I have read after seeing the movie as opposed to before, so I was kind of hoping that that scene was in the books as well, but I thought the debate was shown well without it too. It also showed how much time had passed since the Pevensies had last been to Narnia and the gravity of the Narnian’s current situation  if the bleak winter in the second book could be potentially seen as better than their current predicament.

The other main thread of Prince Caspian (other than the impending battle between the Narnians and the Telmarines) is, of course, Aslan. Lucy, who has always been the closest to Aslan, claims to see him while travelling through Narnia, but the others cannot. This also brings in some conflict to the story as to why they can’t see him, and why Lucy can. Lewis does a good job of portraying “a child-like faith” in Lucy without making it sound preachy, which could easily happen in an allegory like this. The older children really begin to doubt Lucy, (although they do point out that she’s been right before) and doubt themselves about why they can’t see the Lion when Lucy can.

All in all I enjoyed Prince Caspian, although I would still say that The Horse and His Boy and The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe were my favorites. Also if I have a chance I may review The Voyage of the Dawn Treader this week as well (two review in one week – w0w), but for now I am looking forward to a nice relaxing Memorial Day Weekend, even if it is supposed to rain.

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 9.46.01 PM

Leave a Reply

