Step Into My Office

One of my favorite things about freelancing, besides the actual work that I do which I absolutely love, is how transportable it is. All I really need to have with me is my computer, which means I can work pretty much everywhere. And I have really been taking advantage of this fact and have worked in Starbucks, various cafes around the city, and Barnes and Nobles. And as the warmer weather came around I sometimes found myself working in parks around the city.

photo

For the past few weeks I have been spending a lot of time out in Long Island. I have found that my ideal work space there is in our screened in porch. It is surrounded by greenery which provides a good view, and allows for fresh air to circulate without me having to worry about the sun’s reflection off the computer, or getting a “computer tan” on my lap (It’s happened with books before).  Plus the chairs are very comfortable.

photo copy

Today, however, what with the rain and the colder weather, I have opted for a warmer office space on the couch in the living room (which is also very comfortable). I have also been toying with the idea of getting a lap desk, but I’ll have to think about it.

photo copy 2

I’m telling you, productivity, creativity, and comfort are all inherently linked. It’s important to be comfortable and to have a good workspace. A workspace is essential for the work that is being done there. Buzzfeed put out an article about Famous Creatives and their Inspiring Workspaces, which I love. I must say I’m partial to Virginia Wolf’s space (#9), Susan Orlean’s cat on her treadmill desk (#35), Ruth Reichl’s view (#38), and George Bernard Shaw’s typewriter and wood paneling (#39).

Where do you find that you work best?

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 9.46.01 PM

2 thoughts on “Step Into My Office

  1. Pingback: Step Into My Office II | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

