Story Update – Nice Notebooks and “Historical Fantasy”

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a good holiday season, and is getting accustomed to writing 2013 in the date. So far, 2013 has turned out to be a fairly productive year for me in terms of writing, all two days of it. The story idea that I have been working on slowly but surely is becoming more real and concrete, which is always exciting. I have two scenes, a few pages of writing, and lots more notes. The notebook I am using also doubles as a binder, so I am able to move pages around which means I can take notes and write in the same notebook without worrying about running out of space. It makes me happy, saves a lot of stress, and I am surprised I have never used one before.

I have talked briefly in the past about what my story idea is – its complicated but there is time travel, college life, and New York City.

I have really been enjoying the planning process of this story. Every new idea or question leads to more questions which is frustrating at times, but is also interesting. It’s like I am creating a puzzle for me to solve in my own way. I have never really viewed writing like that before, but it is true. I am currently reading Fire, the companion book to Graceling by Kristin Cashore (review to come). She wrote an essay on world building , which I have been talking a lot about lately, and have been working on myself. I found what she had to say interesting, and thought I would share it here. There are many details that have to be thought of in order for a story to become real, many of which the reader doesn’t see. Most of the questions that I had for my story weeks ago are no longer relevant, but they had to be thought of for my story to happen.

photo

Lots of pages – I was actually recopying things here

5 thoughts on “Story Update – Nice Notebooks and “Historical Fantasy”

  1. Pingback: “It’s not a date” | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

  2. Pingback: On Self Doubt | goodbookscents

  3. Pingback: Tackling World War I: Fall of Giants by Ken Follett | goodbookscents

  4. Pingback: Time Travel: Choose Your Own Adventure | goodbookscents

  5. Pingback: When Stories Have a Mind of Their Own | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

