Gone Girl

BOOK

Gone Girl is the one book that I have heard about constantly since June. Recommendations, articles, conversations – its been everywhere. It took me longer than I wanted to actually buckle down and read it (confessions of a bookaholic) and now that I have I can honestly say that my mind has been blown.

I finished the book last week after not being able to put it down. It is a hard book to review, because there is so much to say about it, but I don’t want to risk ruining the read for anyone.

To start off the basic outline of the book is: Nick is married to Amy. They moved back to Missouri from New York after the both of them lost their jobs, and the two of them are trying to make ends meet. It is their fifth wedding anniversary, and everything is all fine and dandy until Amy disappears from their house. The police come and investigate and the story goes on from there.

Gone Girl is one of those books that stays with you. I keep finding myself having conversations about the book. Gillian Flynn just amazed me. I am not particularly drawn to her writing style, but the story and characters were so complex that I was drawn in immediately. Most mystery novels or TV shows follow the detectives as they uncover clues and solve the case. Gone Girl, however, focuses in on Nick and Amy and their relationship. The detectives end up being minor characters, in a way. Because of this set up the book really turns into a double character study of both Nick and Amy, which I loved.

I was also amazed at the detail with which Gillian Flynn approached the plot of her book. It was hugely impressive. She leads her reader down the exact path that they want them to go. At the beginning of the book I was sure I had figured it out – I knew what happened and how it happened and it was dark and a little twisted (which the book is). It all fit – or so I thought. And then the rug was pulled out from under me and I found myself racing to catch up. Flynn’s details and characters are detailed and thought out to a tee. She has covered all her bases with this one.  As I was reading I kept on thinking “Wow these characters are really impressive”, which easily translates into “Wow this author is really impressive.”

Flynn does not shy away from too many topics in her writing and she is not afraid to create flawed characters. Her characters aren’t very likable, but they spill themselves onto the page in such a way that the reader can’t help but keep reading. It was an interesting phenomenon for me. As I have said before, I enjoy getting into character motivation and the psychology behind it, which is what this book thrives off of! I am trying to touch on everything without giving anything away, which is a challenge, and does not fully give the book justice. I could go on and on about this one. I felt out of the loop before reading it, and now that I have I’m glad that I did. It is definitely a memorable read.

4 thoughts on “Gone Girl

  1. I felt the same way when I read it in June, that was over 6 months ago and it’s still the book I find myself talking about with groups of people, it’s an amazingly surprising read and loved the ending even though I know it is often debated.

  2. Great review, I was a little hesitant to read it but hearing from other people that aren’t a big fan of that writing style (but liked it anyway) has pushed it into my periphery. It’s probably the book I hear people talking about and recommending most often this year, so I guess it’s on my to-read list for 2013!

  3. Pingback: Double Book Review: Everyday and We Were Liars | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

