Writing Again

Over Columbus Weekend I went to visit a good friend of mine in Maine. I have known this girl since I was 5 when we met in Long Island, and she has been trying to get me to visit her house in Maine pretty much since then so it was nice to finally be able to go. We went to school near each other from K-12, were both in the Boston area for college, and  have matching families (older brothers who are close in age, fathers went to the same school(s) etc.) which we realized a few years ago. Our parents are friends as well, and the two of us have been known to stay up late and watch movies (Harry Potter marathons and other movies) until all hours of the night. It’s kind of our thing.

Anyway what I was trying to say was I couldn’t post over the weekend because I was doing Maine things (like failing at an axe throwing contest – no one was injured I just missed the log). So no posting but lots of fun.

But I DO have a story idea. It is very much in the works right now and I am still figuring out some of the bigger details like what kind of story it is, how the plot works etc. Right now it is a list of questions that just seem to constantly grow, and a list of characters and settings. I also have what could be the first paragraph or so. There might be some historical aspects to the story so I might need to do some research or just background reading on that. I don’t usually do historical stuff but there also might be some sort of science fiction in there too (time travel mostly). I also don’t know if its YA or not. Pretty much I don’t know a lot of stuff, but it gives me something to mull over on the way home from work or while I am going to bed (I find that I write best very late at night which is not always convenient for my sleep schedule).

Also, I am not sure when this excessive story planning thing started. I had a story idea the summer before last that I ultimately dropped but I was approaching it very similarly to the way I am approaching this. When I was little I used to just write scene after scene at the drop of a hat. Granted the term scene should be used liberally there as well as the term plot because I was 8 and didn’t really think those things were important. Even during my fiction writing classes in college I did more actual writing than planning, although I did plan a lot as well. But there were no lists and lists of questions. Those were very different stories than this seems to be though, and they were all short stories instead of a novel length thing.

Oh well, I’ll guess I’ll just have to see what happens to see if this is going anywhere. Potential updates later.

2 thoughts on “Writing Again

  1. Pingback: Story Update and Why I Am Not Doing NaNoWriMo | goodbookscents

  2. Pingback: Story Update – Nice Notebooks and “Historical Fantasy” | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

