It’s The End of the World as We Know It – Or Maybe Not

picture from wired.com

Well it’s hard to have a book blog in this day and age without a tip of the hat to e-books. They are everywhere and hard to miss. Personally, I am an old timer and would go for good old fashioned paper and ink rather than a Kindle or Nook, but I do understand their appeal. E-readers do make reading long novels on crowded rush hour subways ten times easier, and the fact that you can store multiple books on one device is appealing. Or if you are in the middle of no where and just dying for a new book, that’s do-able too. However, I find it interesting that there is a new push for more LED screens as opposed to e-ink, with more options for internet and games. For me personally, I like reading not only because of the stories, plots, characters etc, but also because I don’t stare at a screen while I do it. It’s a nice break. I would be okay reading a book on my Goodreads app, for example while I was on the bus or subway, if I was reading the physical version at home, and could curl up with that when I wasn’t in transit.

Maybe its because I’m a nerd and notice these things, or maybe it’s because I just finished a publishing program and like to read myself, but I feel like people have been reading more than ever now. And I can’t help but think that e-readers have to do with that. But it’s not just people reading on e-readers, although there are a lot of them. I’ve noticed more people reading books on subways, busses, or in cafes too. i.e – The Underground New York Public Library blog. I remember when ipods had just come out sometimes I would count the number of people with white headphones on the subway. But now, if I’m really bored on the subway (which can happen frequently) I count the number of people reading. E-books or regular books. And there are definitely a lot out there. Yay reading!

Another interesting thing (maybe only to me) is the kind of books that are popular on e-books. From what I have heard and seen it is primarily genre fiction. (The romance best seller list on Amazon for example) People are still buying real books though, maybe more expensive, or hard cover books that they intend to keep for a longer period of time. This makes me happy. It seems like we are coming to a place where e-readers and physical books might be able to co-exist.

These are just my opinions mixed with what I have heard on the topic – I am in no way an e-reader expert. Feel free to comment with your thoughts.

One thought on “It’s The End of the World as We Know It – Or Maybe Not

  1. Pingback: The Golden Age of Publishing | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

