Thoughts About Book Challenges

I have noticed through my wanderings on WordPress that,

1) there are a lot of book blogs and

2) there are a lot of reading challenges out there.

I love book people! I love talking about great books, good books, bad books, good reading spots, any of it, really. At the same time I am not a fan of book challenges. The “read 150 books in a year type thing (or insert your own number here). To those of you who can do them, all the more power to you. That just isn’t how I work. I have spent my entire educational career reading books for a certain deadline and splitting up readings into somewhat manageable segments so I don’t overwhelm myself. (Telling myself that I could read 50 pages of dense Russian Literature before bed my Junior year in highschool didn’t always go as planned).

The thought of graduating terrifies me (ahhhh!) but one thing that I realized I am looking forward to is reading what I want when I want (to a certain extent, I expect). I can never read for fun during the school year because I always have so much reading for homework that I tend to not want to read as a break on top of that. But that will change. And I feel like if I try one of those read 365 books in a year things I would hate it. I would stress myself out about it and make it feel like homework and that i had to do it or else I would be a terrible person/English major/reader or something. I am expecting to read a lot in the future/coming year/summer etc. But the fact that it is on my own free time is what excites me. Whatever I want whenever I want. Maybe down the road I will try some sort of book challenge, but for right now I’m just going to curl up with a good book and read for fun.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Thoughts About Book Challenges

  1. I hear you and am sometimes so glad that I am no longer in your position of having to prep for class (either for college or for teaching it). Nobody ever wants to read Candace Bushnell or Nick Hornby, for example, for class. They are not considered to be book challenges, though try writing like them. 🙂 Good luck with your last term and all the best!

  2. I’m an English (Creative Writing) major, but I’ve taken the slowing down of the last few years of my education (i.e, less literature survey classes, more intense dissection of a few texts) to take it upon myself to start reading for pleasure again! It’s actually a decent reprieve, even if assigned reading keeps me busy … it keeps the reading muscles strong, but doesn’t feel like a chore.

    Book challenges, though, eh. I can’t really get into the social aspect of it without feeling like it’s a chore, and without that, I don’t really force myself. Instead, it’s just much easier to find some time in my day to lay around outside or in bed or stop browsing social networking sites if I have a book in my lap all the time.

  3. Pingback: Story Update and Why I Am Not Doing NaNoWriMo | goodbookscents

  4. Pingback: The Year of Magical Blogging | goodbookscents

  5. Pingback: Why I Read YA Books and Watch Kid’s Movies | goodbookscents

Leave a Reply

